New measures for border enforcement (16)

(new designated countries/regions in response to coronavirus variants of special concern on border measures and others)

6 July 2021

All cross-border travelers and returnees from countries/regions which are designated separately based on the measure in response to coronavirus variant of special concern on border measures are requested, for the time being, to stay during 10 days at facilities designated by the Chief of the Quarantine Station (limited only to those facilities secured by the Quarantine Station). In addition, those who obtain negative results of all COVID-19 tests conducted on the third, sixth and tenth days from the entry into Japan, may leave the facilities, but are still required to stay for the remaining period of 14 days after the entry into Japan at places such as their own residence.

(Note 1) With regard to designated countries/regions based on New measures for border enforcement (15) and (16), whenever the Ministry of Foreign Affairs and the Ministry of Health, Labour and Welfare of Japan confirm, designation and removal of countries/regions subject to those measures, as well as modification of details is to be published.

(Note 2) The aforementioned measures are subject to persons who have stayed in the designated countries/regions within 14 days before the day of return to Japan or the day of application for landing on Japan.

(Note 3) The designated measures will be implemented three days after the designation from 0:00am (JST). In addition, the modification of the designation or the removal of designation based on the above will also be implemented three days after the publication from 0:00am (JST).

(End)

(Annex)

- 1 Countries/regions subject to 1 (1) of New measures for border enforcement (15)
- Afghanistan, India, Sri Lanka, Nepal, Pakistan, Maldives

Designation date: 28 June 2021

- \*The measure was applied from 0:00am (JST) on 1 July 2021.
- 2 Countries/regions subject to New measures for border enforcement (16)
- Indonesia, Kyrgyz, Zambia

Designation date: 6 July 2021

- \*The measure will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on 9 July 2021.
- 3 Countries/regions subject to 1 (2) of New measures for border enforcement (15)
- Bangladesh

Designation date: 28 June 2021

- \*The measure was applied from 0:00am (JST) on 1 July 2021.
- 4 Countries/regions subject to the first half of 1 (2) of New measures for border enforcement (15)
- > Malaysia, Uganda, the UK,

Designation date: 28 June 2021

- \*The measure was applied from 0:00am (JST) on 1 July 2021.
- > the UAE

Designation date: 6 July 2021

\*The measure will be applied from 0:00 am (JST) on 9 July 2021.

## (NOTE)

- \*Indonesia was subject to the above-mentioned measure 4 from 28 June 2021. The designation, however, was removed on 6 July 2021. All cross-border travelers and returnees from Indonesia arriving after 0:00 am (JST) on 9 July 2021, are subject to the above-mentioned measure 2.
- \* Egypt was subject to the above-mentioned measure 4 from 28 June 2021. The designation, however, was removed on 6 July 2021. All cross-border travelers and returnees from Egypt arriving after 0:00 am (JST) on 9 July 2021, are subject to the below-mentioned measure 5.
- 5 Countries/regions subject to 1 (3) of New measures for border enforcement (15)

## (Provisional translation)

➤ Belgium, Brazil, Denmark, Greece, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Latvia, Ireland, the Netherlands, Peru, the Philippines, Portugal, Russia (Moscow, Moscow Oblast, Saint Petersburg), Spain, South Africa, Sweden, Thailand, Tunisia, the United States (Arizona, Arkansas, Colorado, Idaho, Kentucky, Louisiana, Mississippi, Montana, Nevada, Oregon, Washington), Viet Nam

Designation date: 28 June 2021

- \*The measure was applied from 0:00am (JST) on 1 July 2021.
- Argentine, Belarus, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Cuba, Ecuador, Egypt, Fiji, Libya, Paraguay, Russia (Nizhegorod, Republic of Karelia, Saratov), Seychelles, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, the United States (New Mexico, Utah, Wyoming), Uruguay, Venezuela

Designation date: 6 July 2021

\*The measure will be applied from 0:00am (JST) on 9 July 2021.

## (NOTE)

\*The UAE was subject to the above-mentioned measure 5 from 28 June 2021. The designation, however, was removed on 6 July 2021. All cross-border travelers and returnees from the UAE arriving after 0:00 am (JST) on 9 July 2021, are subject to the above-mentioned measure 4 \*Kyrgyz was subject to the above-mentioned measure 5 from 28 June 2021. The designation, however, was removed on 6 July 2021. All cross-border travelers and returnees from Kyrgyz arriving after 0:00 am (JST) on 9 July 2021, are subject to the above-mentioned measure 2. \*Estonia, France, Nigeria, the United States (Delaware, Kansas, Maine) were subject to the above-mentioned measure 5 from 28 June 2021. The designation, however, was removed on 6 July 2021. All cross-border travelers and returnees from those countries/regions arriving after 0:00 am (JST) on 9 July 2021, are subject neither to stay at facilities designated by the Chief of the Quarantine Station, nor to conduct a COVID-19 test on the third day from the entry into Japan.

6 Countries/regions subject to 2 of New measures for border enforcement (15)

Switzerland, the United States (Florida)

Designation date: 28 June 2021

\*The measure was applied from 0:00am (JST) on 1 July 2021.

## [NOTE]

\*Canada (Ontario), Luxemburg, the United States (Minnesota), were subject to the above-mentioned measure 6 from 28 June 2021. The designation, however, was removed on 6 July 2021. All cross-border travelers and returnees from those countries/regions arriving after 0:00 am (JST) on 9 July 2021, are subject neither to stay at facilities designated by the Chief of the Quarantine

Station, nor to conduct a COVID-19 test on the third day from the entry into Japan.

(End)